我们的可持续发展历程

Amtrak将可持续发展视为开展运营的一个基本组成部分。全公司贯彻执行的可持续发展政策对如何将环保、经济和社会因素纳入我们的决策流程提供了指导。

环境可持续发展
在适用环保法律法规允许的范围内开展运营,并采取可提高效率、降低环境影响以及促进资源可持续利用的最佳实践。

财务可持续发展
在财务上实现稳定和成功的运营,提高效率,减少浪费。

社会可持续发展
提供高品质服务,在我们所服务的社区促成安全性、连通性和移动性,并培养一支健康而富有成效的员工队伍。

全公司贯彻执行的可持续发展计划的使命是提高意识,并将最佳实践以透明、可衡量的方式融入运营的方方面面。全公司的各个团队全力以赴,为我们的利益相关方创造长远效益,包括客户、员工、各州合作伙伴以及业务合作伙伴。我们的工作包括回收椅垫以避免垃圾填埋、为维护设施更换照明灯以降低电费、在自然灾害发生后向相应社区提供捐赠物资,并提高车队的燃油和能源效率。

最后,每位Amtrak员工都有责任将可持续发展融入我们的工作当中。无论是下班时随手关灯、节约柴油燃料、向旅客介绍携自行车登车计划,还是询问所购材料中的回收成分,每个人都能贡献自己的力量。我们将共同让Amtrak造福于旅客、员工和地球环境。

我们的承诺

多年来,我们向公众做出了多项可持续发展承诺,下文列举了Amtrak报告和衡量年同比绩效的机构。

超越文化、种族、年龄或性别

CDP

CDP(原碳披露项目)是一个自愿性框架,由各公司自行报告其环境数据和影响。作为CDP成员机构,Amtrak承诺公布温室气体排放数据(我们的碳足迹)以及有关气候变化举措和缓解战略的信息。CDP评分分为A至E级,A级表示气候数据完善并且深刻理解企业气候相关问题。2016和2017年,Amtrak获得了管理层A级评分,这使Amtrak成为发现和管理气候变化相关风险及机遇领域的领先机构。有关我们的CDP气候变化响应,请见cdp.net

国际铁路联盟(UIC)铁路气候责任承诺

通过签署UIC铁路气候责任承诺书,Amtrak承诺减少能耗与二氧化碳排放、刺激国内和国际市场的铁路模式转变、积极宣传气候友好型举措以及公开报告有关能耗和二氧化碳排放的数据。

美国公共交通协会(APTA)可持续发展承诺

Amtrak于2009年成为APTA可持续发展承诺的创始签约机构之一,并于2017年5月晋级获得金级认证。Amtrak通过照明项目和基于设施的能源计划来提高能效、采用绿色建筑规范和标准(例如国际绿色建筑规范(IgCC))以及为车站争取LEED认证而实现了这一目标。

Our Sustainability Story

Amtrak embraces sustainability as a fundamental 
part of how we operate. Our company-wide Sustainability Policy guides how we incorporate environmental, financial, and social considerations into our decision-making processes.

Environmental Sustainability
Operate within compliance of applicable environmental laws and regulations and with best practices that increase efficiency, reduce environmental impacts, and promote the sustainable use of resources.

Financial Sustainability
Operate in a manner that promotes a financially stable and successful operation, improves efficiency, and reduces waste.

Social Sustainability
Operate in a manner that provides quality service, engages and fosters safety, connectivity, and mobility in the communities we serve, and cultivates a healthy and productive workforce. 

The mission of our company-wide Sustainability Program is to increase awareness and integrate better practices throughout our operations 
in transparent and measurable ways. Various teams across the company work diligently to create lasting benefits for our stakeholders, including customers, employees, state partners, and business partners.  Our work includes recycling seat cushions to avoid landfilling, re-lamping maintenance facilities for lower energy bills, delivering donated supplies to communities after a natural disaster, and improving the fuel and energy efficiency of our fleet.

Ultimately, every Amtrak employee has the responsibility to incorporate sustainability into our jobs. Whether it’s turning out the lights when we leave for the day, conserving diesel fuel, telling our customers about our bikes-on-board program, or asking for recycled content in the materials we buy, each of us can do our part. Together, we will make Amtrak a better place for our customers, our employees, and our planet.

Our Commitments

Over the years, we have made a number of public sustainability commitments and below are a few examples of organizations with whom Amtrak reports and benchmarks year over year performance.

Beyond Culture, Ethnicity, Age or Gender

CDP

CDP (formerly the Carbon Disclosure Project) is a voluntary framework whereby companies self-report their environmental data and impacts. As a CDP member, Amtrak commits to publicly report greenhouse gas emissions data (our carbon footprint) and information on our climate change initiatives and mitigation strategies. CDP scores range from A to E, with A indicating robust climate data and a strong understanding of corporate climate-related issues. In 2016 and 2017, Amtrak received a leadership level score of an A- placing Amtrak among the leading organizations with regards to identifying and managing risks and opportunities related to climate change. Our CDP climate change response can be viewed at cdp.net.

International Union of Railways (UIC) Railway Climate Responsibility Pledge

In signing the UIC Railway Climate Responsibility Pledge, Amtrak committed to reduce energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions, stimulate modal shift to rail in national and international markets, actively communicate climate-friendly initiatives and publicly report data on energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions.

American Public Transportation Association (APTA) Sustainability Commitment

Amtrak signed onto the APTA Sustainability Commitment in 2009 as one of the founding signatories and advanced to Gold Level recognition status in May 2017. Amtrak achieved this goal by realizing energy efficiency gains through lighting projects and facility-based energy plans, adopting green building codes and standards such as the International Green Construction Code (IgCC), and obtaining Leadership in Energy Efficient Design (LEED) certifications for stations.