Purchases, Sales, Leases, Easements and Other Real Estate Agreements

To initiate the process of obtaining a lease or easement or purchasing Amtrak-owned property, an applicant must submit a cover letter describing the proposed use and a detailed map showing the dimensions of the proposed lease/easement area to the Real Estate Development Department. The applicant is strongly encouraged to include any legal descriptions, site photos, and plat maps to ensure timely processing of the application.

In some cases, the applicant will be required to reimburse railroad for the cost of Engineering Design Review Fees.

Upon receipt of these materials, the Real Estate team coordinates through multiple departments to secure approval. The approval process takes several months; a full and detailed submission of the cover letter, application, and associated fees is a key step to ensure timely processing. Application for a real estate rights does not guarantee approval.

If your use and design is approved, a real estate agreement will be forwarded to the applicant for signature. The agreement on an Amtrak approved form will outline the terms and conditions of the occupancy as well as any insurance requirements. In the event there will be construction activity related to the occupancy, Railroad Protective Insurance will also be required.

Contact Information: Purchases, Sales, Leases, Easements and Other Real Estate Agreements
Nationwide
Northeast Corridor
National Network
Angel D’Ippolito, Senior Director
(215) 349-2548
angelique.dippolito@amtrak.com
Philadelphia & Washington, DC Lia Stokes, Senior Manager
(215) 207-8703
lia.stokes@amtrak.com
Chicago Jason Young, Senior Manager
(215) 964-2247
jason.young@amtrak.com

Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, PA, VA)

John Horgan, Senior Manager
(610) 850-1726
john.horgan@amtrak.com

New York & New Jersey (NY, NJ)

Virginia Hart, Senior Manager
(215) 349-3658
virginia.hart@amtrak.com

New England (CT, NH, MA, ME, RI, VT)

Alan Warner, Senior Manager
(215) 349-1953
warnera@amtrak.com
Central (IA, IL, IN, KS, KY, MI, MN, MO, ND, NE, OH, WI) Joan Scarpa, Manager
(302) 287-4975
joan.scarpa@amtrak.com
South (AL, AR, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, NM, OK, SC, TN, TX, WV) Terrance Hancock, Senor Manager
(215) 349-3592
terrance.hancock@amtrak.com

West (AZ, CA, CO, ID, MT, NV, OR, UT, WA)

Alice Rose, Manager
(510) 238-4847
alice.rose@amtrak.com