利益相关方常见问答

我们经常收到来自民选和政府官员、新闻媒体成员和其他利益相关方的问题,涉及诸如Amtrak的财务业绩、运营和服务以及改善和扩展城际客运铁路服务等问题。为了使所有关注Amtrak的人都能获得有关这些主题的信息,我们在下面汇总了对常见问题的回答。许多回答中都包含链接,您可以通过这些链接了解对应话题的更多详情(2019财年间的数字为初步计算)。有关Amtrak的一般信息也可以在我们的公司简介中找到。

Amtrak和货运铁路

  • 1970年成立的Amtrak是国会与私有铁路(现在通常称为“货运铁路”)之间公开协议的结果。国会同意免除私有铁路提供城际客运服务的法律义务,但作为交换,其要将轨道提供给Amtrak使用,因为在提供客运服务的过程中,私有铁路蒙受了巨大损失,以致于威胁到其财务生存能力。Amtrak支付铁路因Amtrak运营而产生的增量费用,并且他们可以因提供良好的准点表现而获得追加付款。

    有关Amtrak和货运铁路的更多信息

  • Amtrak仅拥有其21,400英里路线网络的约3%,主要位于东北走廊(NEC)。Amtrak列车所运营的其余铁路线大部分是由货运铁路拥有和调度的。根据法律,Amtrak应该比货运列车享有优先权。但是货运公司常常无视法律。实际上,在2019财年,货运列车导致的Amtrak乘客延误时间超过了一百万分钟。

    有关Amtrak货运列车晚点的更多信息

财务绩效

  • Amtrak的财务业绩比历史上任何时候都要好。Amtrak在2019财年间的收入超过了运营成本的99%以上,有望在2020年达成运营盈亏平衡。在美国的客运铁路中,Amtrak的票价回收率(由旅客支付的经营成本的百分比)是最高的。Amtrak的财务绩效优于其他国家的客运铁路,与Amtrak相比,大多数客运铁路从联邦政府获得的补贴要高得多。

  • Amtrak运营着城际列车和路线的互连网络,这些网络共享设施、设备以及由Amtrak员工提供的服务。与Amtrak业务相关的收入和成本被分配到各个列车、路线和服务线路,以跟踪其财务绩效。某些成本(例如付给工程师和列车员的工资)可轻松归于特定路线。其他使多条路线受益的成本(例如在Washington Union车站维护共用轨道的成本以及诸如Amtrak的IT服务台之类的日常开支成本)都是根据相对使用情况分配的。

    有关向不同路线分配收入和成本的更多信息

  • Amtrak的15条长途(超过750英里)路线在2019财年承运了Amtrak客运量的14%,得到的Amtrak联邦资助份额却与此并不相称。因为这部分客运占了Amtrak经营亏损(2019财年为$475,000,000)的很大一部分,而联邦政府是其唯一的资本融资来源。与Amtrak的NEC和政府支持线路相比,长途列车的有效座位里程乘客收入较低,而有效座位里程运营成本较高。

    长途列车财务绩效详情

设备和基础设施

  • Amtrak的设备车队没有足够的容量来满足对Amtrak服务的创纪录需求,并且大部分车队的使用寿命已经终结。Amtrak正在采购新型高速Acela列车组,到2021年投入服务后将提高容量并重新定义NEC的乘客体验。Amtrak最后一批Viewliner II车厢也将交付,这些车厢取代了其长途线路上最古老的设备;最近已为长途列车首次下单订购新型Charger柴油机车;并将很快寻求新设备提案,以取代Northeast Regional和许多政府支持线路所使用的Amfleet I设备。Amtrak打算在即将进行的重新授权中寻求国会的更多资助,以继续更换其设备车队。更多信息请见Amtrak的设备资产线计划

  • Amtrak拥有列车停靠的525多个车站中的约80个。其他Amtrak车站归城市、货运铁路、轨道交通和通勤铁路机构、州交通运输部甚至个人所有。有关每个车站的车站建筑物、站台、轨道和停车场的所有权信息,请见Amtrak Great American车站网站上的车站资料页面。如果您对车站有任何疑问或问题,请与您所在地区的Amtrak政府事务工作人员联系。

Amtrak的益处

  • Amtrak的服务提升了大都市区和农村社区的经济机会、商业竞争力和生活质量。Amtrak聘用了来自46个州的20,000名员工,每年支付的工资超过16亿美元。在美国,铁路运输行业的每个工作岗位都会创造近六个工作岗位。仅NEC,每个工作日就有820,000名乘客乘坐通勤和Amtrak列车前去工作、上学以及前往其他目的地,这使得NEC成为区域和全国经济的主要推动力。NEC地区近1/3的工作岗位位于NEC车站的五英里范围内。

    有关Amtrak经济贡献的更多信息

    了解Amtrak对您所在州的经济影响

  • 按每客运里程计算,Amtrak的能源效率比汽车旅行高47%,比国内航空旅行高33%。Amtrak在日常运营中始终坚持可持续发展——过去十年里,我们实施了新技术并改变了员工行为,旨在减少相当于每年42,259辆汽车产生的温室气体排放量。我们还专注于提高车队效率,为客户提供安全可靠的服务,以及就整个国家网络面临的不断变化的气候条件评估改善运营的方法。

    有关Amtrak可持续发展的更多信息

政策问题

  • 根据国会预算局最新编制的数据,联邦政府在2017年向高速公路拨款458亿美元,向水运拨款44亿美元,向航空拨款167亿美元,向公共交通拨款123亿美元,并向铁路拨款47亿美元(其中1495亿美元是Amtrak的联邦拨款)。与高速公路、航空和公共交通不同,城际客运铁路没有信托基金。这意味着Amtrak的资金,包括可用于启动或继续进行多年资本项目的资金,目前取决于年度联邦拨款,在财政年度开始后的几个月内,这笔资金的数额通常是未知的。

  • 目前尚不清楚Amtrak私有化提案打算解决什么问题。成立Amtrak的原因是,私营铁路公司在提供城际客运铁路服务方面蒙受了巨额亏损。尽管资金有限,但Amtrak的乘客量和财务业绩均处于创纪录水平。根据联邦法律的要求,Amtrak已作为一家营利性公司运营。它拥有以业务为中心的领导层,这些领导具备经营交通运输和其他行业的营利性公司的成功经验。由于私营运营商在安全、财务和基础设施维护方面的缺陷,许多将铁路服务私有化的国家被迫将其恢复为公共服务。

    有关Amtrak私有化的更多信息

  • 乘坐以每小时300英里速度行驶的磁悬浮列车或以两倍于该速度在钢管中飞驰的超回路列车的想法可能对某些旅客具有一定的吸引力。但是,磁悬浮列车或超回路列车在其一生中成为美国城际旅行可行选择的可能性很小。能够安全地运送人类的高速超回路列车是一个未经证实的理论概念,并不存在。自1970年代以来,磁悬浮列车已在几条较短的示范线上运行,但测试过磁悬浮列车的亚洲和欧洲国家始终选择首先开发高铁系统,因为在人口稠密的城市建设磁悬浮列车线路造价高昂且会对环境造成破坏。只有2.6%的Amtrak NEC乘客可以用到某些人提议的华盛顿和巴尔的摩之间由联邦政府资助的磁悬浮列车,而对NEC基础设施的投资将使所有NEC乘客受益。

  • 由于缺乏公共投资,美国不具备几乎每个欧洲和亚洲国家都拥有的高铁系统。自Amtrak在1971年成立以来,美国人均城际客运铁路服务支出与所有这些国家相比极少。因此,在NEC以外地区,国会和DOT自1991年以来指定的9,200英里高铁线路中仅213英里目前以90 mph或更高速度运行。尽管美国在1959年拥有世界上最快的客运列车,但到了今天,有18个其他国家的列车比Amtrak的Acela(美国唯一的高铁服务)更快。

Amtrak路线网络

  • 增开新的路线需要公共资助以用于设备、车站和基础设施的资本投资,以及未包含在票价收入中的运营成本。联邦法律要求各州或其他方将大部分资金提供给750英里或更短的Amtrak路线(称为政府支持的路线)。在政府支持的路线上,各州根据运营考虑和必要资金的提供,决定在何处提供服务。在其他路线上,Amtrak将在具有运营可行性并将吸引足够的额外乘客的地点增设站点,以免在为任何必要的资本投资(例如新车站的设施)提供资金的情况下降低财务绩效。

  • 扩大和改进Amtrak服务的需求从未如此迫切。我们国家的人口在增长,并且越来越多地集中在短途走廊沿线的城市化地区,Amtrak可以通过提供行程时间相比其他交通方式更具竞争力的交通服务来缓解空中和公路交通拥堵。自1971年开始运营以来,Amtrak的路线图并没有发生太大变化。美国许多发展最快的地区和主要大都市地区都没有Amtrak列车,或者仅有每天一班或每三周一班的长途列车服务。为了满足繁忙的走廊线路上不断增长的需求,Amtrak需要重新考虑我们的全国网络。虽然长途列车始终会发挥作用,但我们看到了可以更好地为现有长途路线沿线的多条走廊以及新建走廊提供更高频率班次的走廊线列车服务的巨大机会。Amtrak计划在即将进行的国会再授权中寻求立法和资金授权,以推进走廊线路的发展。

Amtrak旅行

  • Amtrak在长途列车上的餐饮服务正在不断发展,以满足当今旅客的需求,许多人更喜欢健康、优质的食物选择,而不是传统的铁路餐车餐点;自选用餐时间;以及独自用餐,而不是在公共餐桌上用餐。由各州决定是否在政府支持的线路上提供餐饮服务。2015年《修复美国地面运输法案》(FAST)要求Amtrak在2020年底之前消除与车上餐饮服务相关的经营亏损。

  • 当Amtrak在1971年开始运营时,几乎所有乘客都是通过车站或售票处的售票人员购买车票的。如今,我们绝大多数乘客发现使用电子设备进行预订、打印或出示车票更加方便,就像乘飞机或公共汽车旅行时一样。只有大约5%的人通过车站售票人员买票。鉴于很少有乘客通过售票人员购票,因此,保持配备工作人员的车站数量不变将与Amtrak最大程度地提高生产率和效率的法定职责相矛盾。Amtrak继续为在无人值守的车站上车、不使用互联网的乘客提供多种购票选择。

  • 由于Amtrak是一家以营利为目的的公司,法律要求公司最大程度地提高营收,因此其票价会根据需求而进行调整,效仿航空公司和城际巴士。在政府支持的路线上,将与有关的州合作做出票价方面的决定。在非高峰时段乘车的乘客和提前预订的乘客通常可享受最低票价。Amtrak也经常进行车票促销。如要了解车票促销时间,请注册Amtrak Guest Rewards在社交媒体上关注Amtrak

  • 我们致力于通过大力投资于火车、车站、便利设施和基础设施来改善客户体验。2019财年间,为了改善客户体验,我们向多个资本项目中投入了$16亿资金,投资额是Amtrak有史以来的最高点。New YorkWashington, DCPhiladelphiaBaltimore和Chicago正在开展主要车站的开发工作。我们正在改善Auto Train上的服务,并在其他东部长途列车上提供更灵活的用餐选择。我们继续开展NEC基础设施升级工作,以增加轨道容量并提升乘坐舒适度和可靠性,这将使Amtrak和通勤旅客受益。Amtrak正着手为乘客车厢添置新坐垫、地毯和窗帘,为乘客带来焕然一新的体验。我们还不断投资以改善WiFi连接。在我们的绝大多数列车上,乘客都可以使用免费WiFi,WiFi服务的性能通过性能调节、更可靠的VPN连接、升级的处理器和调制解调器卡以及提升WiFi速度的新型天线(穿越基站覆盖有限的偏远地区的少数列车不提供WiFi)得到增强。

安全和安保

  • 我们的目标是成为美国最安全的客运铁路。我们认为,零事故和零严重伤害都是可能实现的——我们每天都在朝着这一绩效目标努力。通过超越监管标准,我们以最高的安全水平开展运营。我们的工程师和乘务员接受了广泛的培训。Amtrak率先在整个网络中实施列车主动控制技术,并且我们正在建立一个全面的新安全管理系统(SMS)以改善我们的安全文化。SMS的目的是使Amtrak从对单个安全事件的反应性响应转变为在发生意外事件之前对整个组织面临的风险进行持续评估和预测性理解。

  • 由于具有便于获取、位置便利和多式联运等优势,铁路和公共交通系统与航空公司截然不同。Amtrak通过采用多层式方法加强安全措施,使得犯罪分子难以对我们的乘客、员工、设备和设施造成伤害,并确保对潜在威胁做出有效响应。该方法包括部署Amtrak警察署巡逻人员、警犬队(K-9 Unit)、侦探和情报收集小组。Amtrak还与地方、州、联邦和私营部门组织以及国际应急管理和执法机构建立了牢固的伙伴关系。

    有关Amtrak安保措施的更多信息

Stakeholder FAQs

We frequently receive questions from elected and government officials, members of the news media and other stakeholders on topics such as Amtrak’s financial performance, its operations and services, and improving and expanding intercity passenger rail service. In order to make information about these topics readily available to all of those with an interest in Amtrak, we have compiled below responses to frequently asked questions. Many include links to further details about a topic (FY 2019 figures are preliminary). General information about Amtrak can also be found in our Company Profile.  

Amtrak and Freight Railroads

  • The creation of Amtrak in 1970 reflected a public bargain between Congress and the private railroads (now generally called “freight railroads”). The railroads were relieved of their legal obligation to provide intercity passenger service, on which they were incurring huge losses that threatened their financial viability, in exchange for making their tracks available to Amtrak. Amtrak pays the incremental costs the railroads incur because of Amtrak’s operations, and they can earn additional payments for providing good on-time performance.

    More About Amtrak and Freight Railroads

  • Amtrak owns only about three percent of its 21,400-mile route network, primarily on the Northeast Corridor (NEC). The rest of the rail lines on which Amtrak trains operate are mostly owned and dispatched by freight railroads. By law, Amtrak is supposed to receive preference over freight trains. But freight companies often ignore the law. In fact, freight trains delayed Amtrak passengers over one million minutes in FY 2019.

    More About Amtrak Freight Train Delays

Financial Performance

  • Amtrak’s financial performance is better than at any time in its history. Revenues equaled more than 99% of operating costs in FY 2019, and Amtrak is on track to breakeven operationally by 2020. Amtrak’s farebox recovery — the percentage of operating costs paid by passengers — is the highest among U.S. passenger railroads. Amtrak’s financial performance compares favorably to the financial performance of passenger railroads in other countries, most of which receive much higher subsidies from their federal governments than Amtrak does.

  • Amtrak operates an interconnected network of intercity trains and routes that share facilities, equipment and services provided by Amtrak employees. The revenues and costs associated with all the things Amtrak does are allocated to individual trains, routes and service lines to track their financial performance. Some costs, such as wages paid to engineers and conductors, are easily attributable to a specific route. Other costs that benefit multiple routes, such as the cost of maintaining shared tracks at Washington Union Station and the cost of overhead functions such as Amtrak’s IT help desk, are allocated based upon relative usage.

    More About Allocating Revenues and Costs to Routes

  • Amtrak’s 15 long distance (over 750 miles) routes, which carried 14% of Amtrak’s passengers in FY 2019, receive a disproportionate share of Amtrak’s federal funding because they account for most of Amtrak’s operating losses ($475 million in FY 2019) and the federal government is their only source of capital funding. Long distance trains’ revenues per available seat mile are lower, and their operating costs per available seat mile are higher, than for Amtrak’s NEC and state-supported services.

    More About Long Distance Train Financial Performance

Equipment and Infrastructure

  • Amtrak’s equipment fleet does not have sufficient capacity to accommodate the record demand for Amtrak service and much of the fleet has reached the end of its useful life. Amtrak is acquiring new high-speed Acela trainsets that will increase capacity and redefine the customer experience on the NEC when they enter service in 2021. Amtrak is also taking delivery of the final Viewliner II cars that have replaced the oldest equipment on its long distance routes; has recently placed an initial order for new Charger diesel locomotives for long distance trains; and will soon seek proposals for new equipment to replace Amfleet I equipment used on Northeast Regional and many state-supported services. Amtrak intends to seek additional funding from Congress in its forthcoming reauthorization to continue the process of replacing its equipment fleet. Additional information can be found in Amtrak’s Equipment Asset Line Plan.

  • Amtrak owns about 80 of the more than 525 stations we serve. Other Amtrak stations are owned by cities, freight railroads, transit and commuter rail agencies, state departments of transportation and even individuals. Ownership information for the station building, platform, tracks and parking lot at each station can be found on the station profile pages on Amtrak’s Great American Stations website. If you have a concern or question about your station, contact the Amtrak Government Affairs staff member for your region.

Benefits of Amtrak

  • The availability of Amtrak’s service enhances economic opportunity, business competitiveness and quality of life in both large metropolitan areas and rural communities. Amtrak employs about 20,000 people from 46 different states, generating an annual payroll exceeding $1.6 B annually. Nearly six jobs are created across the U.S. for every job in the rail transportation industry. On the NEC alone, 820,000 people board commuter and Amtrak trains each weekday to head to work, school and other destinations, making the NEC a major driver of the regional and national economy. Nearly one-third of the NEC region’s jobs are located within five miles of an NEC station.

    More About Amtrak's Economic Contribution

    Learn About Amtrak’s Economic Impact in Your State

  • Amtrak is 47 percent more energy efficient than traveling by car and 33 percent more efficient than domestic airline travel on a per-passenger-mile basis. Amtrak embraces sustainability in our daily operations — over the course of the last decade we’ve implemented new technologies and changed employee behavior to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions equivalent to 42,259 cars driven for a year. We are also focused on improving the efficiency of our fleet, delivering safe and reliable service to our customers, and evaluating ways to improve operations in the face of changing climate conditions across the national network.

    More About Amtrak Sustainability

Policy Issues

  • According to the most recent data compiled by the Congressional Budget Office, in 2017 the federal government spent $45.8 billion on highways, $4.4 billion on water transportation and navigation, $16.7 billion on aviation, $12.3 billion on mass transit and $4.7 billion on rail (of which $1.495 billion was for Amtrak’s federal grant). Unlike highways, aviation and mass transit, there is no trust fund for intercity passenger rail. This means that Amtrak’s funding, including the amount of money that will be available to initiate or continue multi-year capital projects, is currently dependent upon annual federal appropriations, the amount of which is often unknown until several months after the fiscal year has begun.

  • It is not clear what problem Amtrak privatization proposals are intended to solve. Amtrak was created because the private railroads were losing large amounts of money providing intercity passenger rail service. Despite limited funding, Amtrak’s ridership and financial performance are at record levels. Amtrak is already operated as a for-profit company, as required by federal law. It has business-focused leadership with experience in successfully operating for-profit companies in the transportation and other industries. Many countries that have privatized their rail service have been compelled to return it to public stewardship due to private operators’ safety, financial and infrastructure maintenance deficiencies.

    More About Amtrak Privatization

  • The thought of levitating aboard a 300-mile-per-hour Maglev, or whooshing through a steel tube in a Hyperloop capsule at twice that speed, may have a certain appeal to some travelers. However, the likelihood that either Maglev or Hyperloop will become a viable option for U.S. intercity travel during their lifetimes is very slim. A high-speed Hyperloop able to safely transport a human being is an unproven theoretical concept that does not exist. While Maglevs have operated on a few short demonstration lines since the 1970s, Asian and European countries where they have been tested have invariably opted to develop high-speed rail systems first because construction of a Maglev line through heavily populated urban areas would be extraordinarily expensive and environmentally disruptive. Only 2.6% of Amtrak’s NEC passengers could potentially use the federally-funded Maglev between Washington and Baltimore that some have proposed, while investments in NEC infrastructure benefit all NEC users.

  • The United States does not have the high-speed rail systems found in virtually every European and Asian country because of lack of public investment. Since Amtrak’s inception in 1971, U.S. spending on intercity passenger rail service on a per capita basis has been only a tiny fraction of what all of these countries have spent. As a result, outside of the NEC, only 213 miles of the 9,200 miles of high speed rail lines that Congress and DOT have designated since 1991 are currently operated at speeds of 90 mph or higher. While the United States had the fastest passenger trains in the world in 1959, today 18 other countries have trains that are faster than Amtrak’s Acela, the nation’s only high-speed rail service.

Amtrak’s Route Network

  • Adding new routes requires public funding for capital investments for equipment, stations and infrastructure, as well as funding for operating costs not covered by ticket revenues. Federal law requires states or others to provide most of the funding for Amtrak routes of 750 miles or less, which are known as state-supported routes. On state-supported routes, states decide where service will be provided, subject to operational considerations and provision of necessary funding. On other routes, Amtrak will add station stops that are operationally feasible and will attract sufficient additional ridership so as not to diminish financial performance if funding is provided for any necessary capital investments such as station facilities at new stops.

  • The need for expanded and improved Amtrak service has never been greater. Our nation’s population is growing, and is increasingly concentrated in urbanized areas along short-distance corridors where Amtrak can alleviate air and highway congestion by offering service that is trip time competitive with other modes. Amtrak’s route map has not changed significantly since it began operation in 1971. Many of the nation’s fastest growing regions and major metropolitan areas have no Amtrak service, or are served only by daily or tri-weekly long-distance trains. Meeting the growing demand along heavily traveled corridors will require Amtrak to rethink our national network. While there will always be a role for long-distance trains, we see a huge opportunity to better serve many corridors along existing long-distance routes, as well as new corridors, with more frequent corridor services. Amtrak plans to seek legislation and funding authorizations to advance corridor development in our forthcoming reauthorization by Congress.

Amtrak Travel

  • Amtrak’s food service on long distance trains is evolving to meet the needs of today’s customers, many of whom prefer healthy, high-quality food options over traditional railroad dining car meals; eating when they feel like; and eating alone rather than at communal tables. States decide whether to offer food service on state-supported routes. The Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act of 2015 requires Amtrak to eliminate the operating loss associated with its onboard food service by the end of 2020.

  • When Amtrak began operation in 1971, nearly all passengers purchased their tickets from agents at stations or ticket offices. Today, the vast majority of our passengers find it more convenient to make reservations and print or display their tickets using their electronic devices, just as they do when traveling by plane or bus. Only about five percent buy their tickets from station ticket agents. Given that few passengers use station agents for ticketing services, maintaining the same number of staffed stations we once had would be inconsistent with Amtrak’s statutory mandate to maximize productivity and efficiency. Amtrak continues to provide a variety of ticketing options for passengers boarding at unstaffed stations who do not use the internet.

  • Because Amtrak is operated as a for-profit company and is required by law to maximize revenues, its fares vary based upon demand, like airlines and intercity buses. On state-supported routes, decisions regarding fares are made in collaboration with the states involved. Passengers who travel during off-peak periods and passengers who book early generally pay the lowest fares. Amtrak also has frequent fare sales. To find out when they occur, sign up for Amtrak Guest Rewards or follow Amtrak on social media.

  • We are committed to improve the customer experience by significantly investing in our trains, stations, amenities and infrastructure. In FY 2019 we invested $1.6 billion on capital projects that improve the customer experience, the highest in recent Amtrak history. Major station development is happening in New York, Washington, DC, Philadelphia, Baltimore and Chicago. We are enhancing service on the Auto Train and providing more flexible dining options on other Eastern long distance trains. Work continues to upgrade NEC infrastructure to increase track capacity and improve ride quality and reliability, which will benefit Amtrak and commuter customers. Amtrak is refreshing its passenger car fleet with enhancements that include new seat cushions, carpeting and curtains. We also continually invest in improved WiFi connections. On the vast majority of our trains, passengers have access to free WiFi that has been enhanced with performance tuning, more reliable VPN connections, upgraded processors and modem cards, as well as new antennas that improve WiFi speed (a few trains that travel through remote areas with limited cell coverage do not offer WiFi).

Safety and Security

  • Our goal is to become America’s safest passenger railroad. We believe that zero accidents and zero serious injuries are possible — and we work together every day toward this level of performance. We operate at the highest level of safety — by exceeding regulatory standards. Our engineers and conductors have extensive training. Amtrak is a leader in implementing Positive Train Control across our network, and we are instituting a comprehensive new Safety Management System (SMS) to improve our safety culture. SMS is intended to move Amtrak from reactive responses to individual safety events toward a continual assessment and predictive understanding of risks facing the entire organization before an unwanted event occurs.

  • Because of advantages such as easy access, convenient locations and intermodal connections, rail and mass transit systems are completely different from airlines. Through a multi-layered approach, Amtrak uses enhanced security measures to make it harder for those who seek to do harm to our passengers, employees, equipment and facilities and ensure an efficient response to potential threats. This approach includes deployment of Amtrak Police Department patrol officers, K-9 units, detectives and intelligence gathering teams. Amtrak also has strong partnerships with local, state, federal and private sector organizations and international emergency management and law enforcement agencies.

    More About Amtrak Security Measures