2019财年可持续发展报告

Amtrak是美国领先的铁路客运服务提供商,每年运载超过3000万旅客前往美国和加拿大的500多个目的地。我们认为,以环保、安全和对财务负责的方式开展业务运营对于我们的未来增长必不可少,并且我们承诺在运营过程中保持一流的环境绩效,将可持续发展纳入决策和实践。

越来越多的利益相关方认识到我们已经知悉的事实,即火车是能效最高的交通方式。政府间气候变化专门委员会也认同:无论现在还是将来,铁路旅行都是交通运输行业最佳的减排方式之一。
阅读执行摘要了解更多信息

执行摘要

企业在应对公共卫生、安全或环境威胁时,可以如此迅速地做出改变,确实令人讶异。同样令人难以置信的是,企业如何迅速地发挥创意和激活解决方案,而这些解决方案在改变后的商业状态下成为开展业务的新方式之前,其实可能仅是一个想法。当全世界因新型冠状病毒的传播而停下來时,Amtrak继续前进,为最需要的人提供必要的服务。

仅举几例,Amtrak接受无现金支付,在所有长途路线上提供灵活餐饮服务,在预订服务中将车票销售限制为火車座位的50%,并在我们最繁忙的车站展示标志牌,以表明在高交通流量地区的安全距离。                    除了车上服务外,我们为近2,000名员工安排远程工作,每周为员工举办一次冥想电话会议,并加入了新的清洁守则,以确保员工和客户安全。由于火车减少,食品和物资因而出现过剩。我们向全国各地的避难所捐赠了额外的食物,并向纽约市一家军方医院捐赠了多余的毛毯,以帮助那些在这个前所未有的时刻需要帮助的人。    我们似乎在一夜之间,全面地适应了新常态。     

在这些就市场需求和干扰作出的调整的背后,是我们团队的基础——我们的员工。      Amtrak的员工致力于在这场历史性的公共卫生危机中吸取经验,以成为一家更强大、更具韧力的公司。          事实上,我们在所有业务职能部门收获的经验,可以应用于制定Amtrak的可持续发展和气候适应性计划。

许多出色的工作在财政年度2019(19财年)得以完成。这是Amtrak财务状况最稳劲的一年,并以3250万人次的乘客量连续第三年创下纪录。                                  19财年的势头一直延续到20财年。这是通过持续投资新的节能设备,准备接收新的Acela列车组,以及执行近$700百万美元有关维修状态良好的基础设施的项目的成果——如下所示。在19财年,我们实现了所有四个企业可持续发展目标,即减少温室气体排放、柴油燃料和电力,并通过特别项目和重新关注最佳实践的交流来增加回收利用。     展望20财年,由于服务量急剧下降,我们预计在实现几个可持续发展目标方面将面临挑战,但我们打算继续推进气候适应和复原力方面的工作。

在我们回顾去年取得的成就时,我们看到了许多可持续发展合作项目的例子。这些项目降低了运营费用,保护了我们的自然资源,并对客户更为方便。   

未命名文档 未命名文档

绩效记分卡是Amtrak展示我们在公司各项工作中的年度进展情况的一种方式。           以下指标包括我们三个具体可持续发展目标和一系列其他重点领域。我们相信,让您看到每项承诺背后的数字非常重要。          

与Tracie Winbigler的问答

首席财务官

气候相关披露专责小组在其2017年7月报告中指出“与气候变化有关,当今公司面临最重大、最容易被误解的风险之一。” 作为监督Amtrak的资本投资和财务战略的高级主管,我们采访了首席财务官Tracie Winbigler,以了解她认为对资产和备灾规划的明智投资,能如何加强Amtrak作为最具能源效率的旅行公司的地位、减少全球性气体排放,并令公司更能抵御大环境压力。

Amtrak其实角色多样。我司是全球减排工作的主要利益相关者,并且是在New York 和 Washington, D.C.、 Los Angeles 到San Diego、以及所有其他短途旅行路线之间旅行的持续性最高的选择。在我们东北走廊的电气化系统上旅行代表行程将比开车少排放83%的温室气体,比飞行少排放73%的温室气体。在Amtrak的整个国内系统中,我们的能源效率比行车效率高47%,和飞行效率相比则高出三分之一。这意味着我们的服务绝对是旅客减少对环境影响的最佳选择。政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)将铁路确定为让人们减少以汽车和飞机出行,从而降低全球排放的关键性运输解决方案。Amtrak的州际铁路系统是该解决方案的关键部分。我们不不仅创历史记录的搭载过3200万以上的乘客,我们还能帮助乘客和商务客户实现低碳承诺,以减少其碳足迹。

自2010年起,我们已成功将企业运营内产生的温室气体排放量(GHG)降低了20%,并在19财年时将总排放量降低了4%,创下了另一项企业记录。我们需要尽力减少交通运输排放对气候变化的影响,因此我们正在努力制定长期目标,好让在未来十年内能大幅减少排放。我们深知还有改进的空间。这就是Amtrak正不断探索减少温室气体排放的方式的原因。我们正在购入更多的低碳电源、运行更高效的设备,并减少车站、办公室和维修车厂的能源消耗。在过去的24个月中,我们进行了大规模投资,开始用更省油的装置替换柴油机车车队。我们也为新Acela车队 做准备,在原来的Acela火车基础上提高了40%的能源效率。


Amtrak自愿向CDP(全球碳披露组织)​​​​​​​报告我们在减少碳足迹和气候适应战略的各项进展。我们在运输服务领域的2019获得了CDP颁发的B级评分,让我们成功跻身货运和客运铁路与航空公司的“管理”类别。这是因为我们表现出了“就气候问题采取协调行动”的跨业务能力。Amtrak一直以来将气候因素、排放目标设定、风险评估和战略规划等纳入公司的治理结构,故此我们的重要信息基础稳固,让公司能进行全面性的弹性规划工作。

调查有助Amtrak的团队将气候因素纳入公司的内部和外部运营、资金、规划和沟通模式等。每年,我们都会向国会提交五年规划文件,其中强调了气候问题和铁路固有的环境优势。我们通过这次机会对未来的资本投资和政策提出建议,以提高我们网络的韧性和可持续性。建议包括环境风险和气候影响,因为我们能看到这些条件变化为公司运营和服务所带来的影响。至关重要的是,各个州份、地区和国会内的合作伙伴必须了解各项须共同努力才能应对的风险。

企业的领导层在我们的企业战略导航框架下的在20年度运营计划中加入了一项新的公司目标,即“制定和实施气候适应力战略计划”。自2015年起,我们已经完成了几个与气候相关的项目,包括脆弱性评估。我们也开发了有着专利技术的洪水地图来预测未来的环境状况。制定弹性战略计划可为制定公司的综合计划提供指导和重点,好让我们能评估、确定和优先处理应立即采取行动的项目。我们已经开始修改商业惯例和设计标准来保护我们的铁路资产,并减少急性事故和长期气候变化对Amtrak客户和员工的影响。


我们需要创造一个安全、清洁、现代和高效的经营环境,让我们在未来能更稳固企业位置。我们以多种方式达到此目标,包括不断改进我们的车站,为客户提供更多的可及性和移动便利; 利用技术为资本规划和项目优先级别评估提供决策;使用地理信息系统(GIS)绘图工具评估Amtrak资产的未来状况; 评估不断增长的市场和人口趋势,更好了解我们的未来客户,还有设计为火车提供电力的悬链系统,以承受更大的风速和更极端的温度变化。

我们的执行团队更加着眼于Amtrak的可持续性和企业的未来。几乎每一次员工大会和季度业务更新都包括从员工到Amtrak领导所提出最少一个有关能源、回收或声誉风险的问题。高级管理层每季度都会根据公司的可持续发展目标跟踪各部门绩效,以便员工能专注并努力实现承诺。每年,可持续性和气候弹性工作都会再度扩展,此中纳入新项目、更多部门和更大胆的承诺以确保长期运营。我们致力寻找这些领域内拥有丰富经验的人才。我们现有的员工正在加紧应对挑战,让Amtrak走向成功未来。Amtrak能始终如一地实现可持续发展目标的能力证明了我司致力不断进步的奉献精神。


我们的价值观

Amtrak的价值观体现了我们的原则和信念。这些价值观是指导我们所有工作的指针,并是将我们定义为一家公司的最重要因素。

我们希望Amtrak成为一所被员工认可、欣赏和践行公司价值观的企业。建立这种连结后,我们会令Amtrak成为一个理想的工作场所,并能创建强大而富于参与力的团队来达成任何目标。有见及此,我们最近通过公司内的焦点小组与超过1,000 名员工对进行对话。我们收集了各项见解,看看他们认为哪些价值最重要。这些谈话让我们坚定我们的大部分信念。Amtrak有着各式各样的人才,他们拥有许多相同的品质。我们对服务充满热情,对我们的工作感到自豪。我们相信团队合作,并且对彼此和我们的客户有强烈的责任感。

这些品质是Amtrak三个价值观的核心。这些价值观简单、难忘、有着特殊意义:

做对的事。就我们自身、同事和客户而言,维持高度安全这一价值对我们所做的一切至关重要。这代表公司以诚信行事,并尽一切努力保护环境。我们必须为后代减少浪费和碳足迹。

客户为先。照顾客户是美国国会向我们授令的基本服务中心,也是我们如何确保员工和公司能持续生存的最主要因素。如今我们的团队以服务为上。我们面临的挑战是公司必须继续和秉持此理念。

一起努力向上。 我们以团队合作和绩效为上,朝着相同的目标努力,同时互相学习。客户需要现代化的解决方案,而当今的商业环境则要求速度和简便性。我们共同努力,实现的目标变得无限可能。

Amtrak游遍美国:每年对超过34800万旅客产生重要影响

全国铁路客运公司(Amtrak)和合作伙伴一起为人民便利出行、推动经济和国家发展共同努力。根据美国国会通过的《旅客铁路投资和改善法案 2008 》中的定义,我们的企业使命是“提供高效和有效的城际旅客轨道出行、高质量的服务,好让铁路出行与其他城市间旅行选择相比的出行时间更具竞争力。” Amtrak运营着一个跨46个州份,哥伦比亚特区和加拿大三个省份的城际客运铁路服务网络。

Amtrak是一家以营利为目的的联邦特许公司,联邦政府为其多数股东。Amtrak董事会成员由美国总统任命,并由美国参议院确认。公司根据国会的一项法案于1970年创立,旨在控制美国的大部分城际客运铁路服务。自5月1971日开始日常运营以来,我们一直在帮助乘客出行。考虑到Amtrak网路内的东北走廊、横跨国内和长途地区的服务路线、共享的联运车站以及为11州份和地区提供的海岸到海岸之间的通勤服务路线和基础设施等,我们每年接触超过348百万旅客。

东北走廊

东北走廊(NEC)服务

Acela和东北地区的服务连接Washington, D.C. 、Philadelphia、 New York 和 Boston,在NEC网路内长达457英里。NEC是北美洲最繁忙的铁路网路,当中大部分为Amtrak所拥有,小部分则为Massachusetts、 Connecticut 和 New York拥有。这网路每天约有 2,200 的Amtrak、通勤和货运列车在Washington-Boston路线上运行。

2019财年要点

乘客量:1250万(年同比增长3.3% )

NEC占Amtrak的总乘客量的 38.5%(占总收入的56%)

NEC网路运营八条通勤铁路,每个工作日的 Amtrak和通勤流量大约为820,000。我们的服务减低高速公路的流量,缓解了城市拥堵状况并改善了空气质量。

全国网络

州级列车

在2019的财政年度,Amtrak通过 20 机构从17个州份获得资金。凭此我们运营了28条短途城际路线(长度少于750 英里)。这些线路覆盖东北部、中西部、南部、西北部和西部。

2019财年要点

  • 1540万乘客(年同比增长2.4%)
  • 总乘客量的47.5% (占总收入的23%)
  • 拥有超过一百万名乘客的五条路线:Pacific Surfliner (CA), Capitol Corridor(CA), Empire Service、Maple Leaf(NY), Keystone Service(PA)和 San Joaquins(CA)

长途列车

我们的15条长途路线(超过750英里)是Amtrak 500多个车站中近一半车站提供的唯一铁路服务,也是网络覆盖的46个州中23个州的唯一Amtrak列车。

2019财年要点

  • 460万乘客(年同比增长0.9%)
  • 占总乘客量的14%(占总营收的21%)

合同通勤服务

Amtrak是北美最大的合同通勤服务运营商之一,可向11州和地区当局提供服务和/或基础设施运输。连接城市中心有助于缓解高速公路的拥堵,减少由机动车引起的排放。同样Amtrak还支持国内扩大铁路服务和改善空气质量的计划。


重点案例

长途

州政府支持

东北走廊

暂停服务

信息图标

想要了解更多? 访问Amtrak可持续发展

Sustainability Report FY 2019

Amtrak is America’s leading passenger rail transportation provider, safely carrying more than 30 million customers to more than 500 destinations annually across the United States and Canada. We believe operating an environmentally efficient, safe, and fiscally responsible business is essential to our future growth and have committed to operating with superior environmental performance and incorporating sustainability into decisions and practices.

Increasingly, our stakeholders are recognizing what we already know, that traveling by rail is more energy efficient than any other mode. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change also agrees: Rail travel is one of the best ways for the transportation sector to reduce emissions now and into the future.
Read more in the Executive Summary

Executive Summary

It’s incredible to see how quickly business can change in response to a public health, safety or environmental threat. It’s equally incredible to see how rapidly businesses innovate and activate solutions that may have merely been an idea before becoming the new way to do business in an altered state of commerce. When the world stopped due to the spread of the coronavirus, Amtrak kept moving, providing an essential service to those who needed it most.

At Amtrak, we accepted cashless payments, offered Flexible Dining service on all long-distance routes, limited ticket sales to 50% of train’s seat capacity on reserved services, and displayed signage at our busiest stations to indicate safe distances in high traffic areas, just to name a few. Outside of onboard services, we set up nearly 2,000 employees in remote work environments, hosted weekly meditation calls for employees, and increased cleaning protocols to keep our employees and customer safe. Fewer trains resulted in a surplus of food and supplies. We donated extra food to shelters in locations around the country and excess blankets to a military-run hospital in New York City to help those in need during this unprecedented time. Across the board, we adapted, seemingly overnight.

Behind these adaptations to market demands and disruptions were the foundation of our workforce, our employees. Amtrak’s employees were committed to emerging from this historic public health crisis as a stronger and more resilient company given the lessons we have learned. In fact, what we experienced across all business functions can be applied in the development of Amtrak’s sustainability and climate resilience plans.

A lot of great work was completed in fiscal year 2019 (FY19). It was Amtrak’s strongest year financially and boasted record ridership with 32.5 million trips – for the third year in a row. The momentum from FY19 continued into FY20 through ongoing investments in new fuel-efficient equipment, preparing to receive the new Acela trainsets, and executing nearly $700 M in state of good repair infrastructure projects – like those highlighted below. Through FY19, we achieved all four corporate sustainability goals to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, diesel fuel and electricity, and increased recycling through special projects and a renewed focus on communicating best practices. Looking into FY20, we expect challenges with meeting several of our sustainability goals due to precipitous decline in service but intend to continue advancing work in climate adaptation and resilience.

As we reflect on accomplishments from last year, we see numerous examples of collaborative sustainability projects resulting in reduced operating expenses, stewardship of our natural resources, and increased accessibility for customers.

Untitled Document Untitled Document

The performance scorecard is a way for Amtrak to communicate how we’re doing year over year across several efforts in the company. The following metrics include our three target-specific sustainability goals and a range of other focus areas. We believe it’s important for you to see the numbers behind each commitment.

Q&A with Tracie Winbigler,

Chief Financial Officer

The Task Force on Climate-Related Disclosures states in its July 2017 report, “One of the most significant, and perhaps most misunderstood, risks that organizations face today relates to climate change.” As the senior executive overseeing Amtrak’s capital investments and financial strategies, we sat down with Tracie Winbigler, CFO, to understand her vision of how smart investments in assets and preparedness planning will strengthen Amtrak’s position as the most energy efficient travel company, lessen our contribution to global emissions, and bolster our resilience against environmental stressors.

Amtrak plays many important roles. We are a key stakeholder in the global emissions reduction effort and are the most sustainable option to travel between New York and Washington, D.C., Los Angeles to San Diego, and every other short-range travel route. Traveling on our electrified system in the northeast corridor emits 83% less greenhouse gas than driving and up to 73% less than flying. Across our national system, Amtrak is 47% more energy efficient than driving and one third more efficient than flying, which means we are fundamentally the better choice for travelers to reduce their impact on the environment. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) identified rail as the key transportation solution to drive down global emissions by getting people out of cars and planes and onto trains. Amtrak’s interstate rail system is a critical part of that solution. Not only did we move more than 32+ million customers (a historic record!), but we are directly supporting our customers’ and corporate clients’ low carbon commitments to travel with a smaller footprint.

In our own operations, we’ve proudly reduced company greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) by 20% since 2010 and lowered our emissions by 4% in FY19 (another company record). We need to do our part to reduce the impact of transportation emissions on climate change, so we are working to set a longer-term goal to decrease emissions substantially within the next decade. We know there’s room to improve, which is why we’re expanding the ways Amtrak will continually reduce our GHG emissions. We’re buying more low-carbon electricity, operating more efficient equipment, and reducing energy consumption in our stations, offices, and maintenance shops. Over the last 24 months we’ve invested extensively to begin replacing our diesel locomotive fleet with units that are more fuel efficient, and prepared for the new Acela fleet which is 40% more energy efficient than the original Acela train sets.


Amtrak voluntarily reports to CDP, the global carbon disclosure organization, on progress to reduce our carbon footprint and implement climate resilience strategies. We received a B from CDP for 2019 in the Transport Services sector, placing us in the “management” category among freight and passenger rail and aviation companies, because we demonstrate our ability to “take coordinated action on climate issues” across various business functions. Because we have consistently identified the various ways Amtrak embeds climate considerations within our governance structure, emissions target setting, risk evaluation, and strategic planning, we have a foundation of salient information from which to draw for company-wide resilience planning efforts.

Completing the questionnaire helped teams across Amtrak incorporate climate considerations into the company’s operations, funding, planning, and communications – both internally and externally. Each year, we deliver to Congress five-year planning documents that emphasize climate concerns and rail’s inherent environmental advantages. We leverage this opportunity to suggest future capital investments and policies that will improve the resilience and sustainability of our network. Environmental risks and climate impacts are included in this package because we are already seeing the impacts from changing conditions on company operations and service. It is critical that our State, regional, and Congressional partners understand the risks that we must work together to manage.

Within the guiding strategies of the company, executive leadership included a new corporate goal in the FY20 annual operating plan, “develop and implement a climate resilience strategic plan.” Since 2015, we’ve completed several climate-related projects, including vulnerability assessments, and developed proprietary inundation maps to anticipate future conditions. Having a strategic resiliency plan provides direction and focus to develop one comprehensive plan to evaluate, identify, and prioritize areas where we should take immediate action. We have already begun amending business practices and design standards to protect our rail assets and lessen the disruption to Amtrak’s customers and employees from acute events and in anticipation of long-term climate shifts.


We need to operate a safe, clean, modern, and efficient business to be relevant for the future. We are doing that in several ways, including making continued improvements to our stations to offer increased accessibility and mobility for customers; using technology to inform decisions for capital planning and project prioritization; using geographic information system (GIS) mapping tools to assess future conditions surrounding Amtrak assets; evaluating growing markets and demographic trends to understand our next generation of customers; and designing the catenary system (which supplies our trains with electric power) to withstand greater wind speeds and more extreme temperatures.

We’re also talking about sustainability and the future of Amtrak, especially in the executive team. Nearly every employee town hall meeting and quarterly business update includes at least one energy, recycling, or reputational risk question from an employee to Amtrak leadership. Senior management tracks our performance against corporate sustainability goals on a quarterly basis which helps us stay focused on efforts to meet our commitments. Every year, sustainability and climate resilience work expands to encompass new projects, more departments, and more ambitious commitments to ensure long-term operations. We’re attracting talent with experience in these areas, and our current employees are stepping up to the challenge to position Amtrak for a successful future. Amtrak’s ability to consistently achieve sustainability goals prove our dedication to continuous progress.


Our Values

Our Amtrak values are an expression of our principles and beliefs. They guide everything we do – and ultimately, define us as a company.

We want Amtrak to be a place where our employees recognize, appreciate and live our values. When this connection is made, we make Amtrak a great place to work – and we create a powerful and engaged team capable of achieving any goal. With this in mind, we recently spoke to more than 1,000 employees through focus groups across the company. We collected their insight on which values were most important to them. These conversations affirmed much of what we already believe and know to be true. Amtrak is full of great people who share many of the same qualities. We have a passion for service, we take great pride in our work, we believe in teamwork, and we have a strong sense of commitment to each other and our customers.

Together, these qualities are the core of our three Amtrak values. These values are simple, memorable, and meaningful:

Do the Right Thing. This value, central to everything we do, starts with always being safe – for ourselves, our co-workers and our customers. It means that we act with integrity and do everything we can to protect our environment. We owe it to future generations to reduce waste and shrink our carbon footprint.

Put Customers First. Taking care of our customers is the essence of our mandate from Congress – and it is how we ensure our continued livelihoods with this company. Our team has a strong sense of service today. Our challenge is that we must continually act upon it.

Excel Together. Focusing on teamwork and performance, we must work toward the same goals while learning from each other. Our customers desire modern solutions and today’s business environment requires speed and simplicity. By excelling together, there are no limits to what we can accomplish.

Amtrak Across America: Vital to 348+ Million Travelers a Year

At the National Railroad Passenger Corporation (Amtrak), we work with our partners to help move people, the economy and the nation forward. Our mission, as defined by the U.S. Congress through the Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act of 2008, is to “provide efficient and effective intercity passenger rail mobility consisting of high-quality service that is trip-time competitive with other intercity travel options.” Amtrak operates a network of intercity passenger rail services spanning 46 states, the District of Columbia and three Canadian provinces.

Amtrak is a federally chartered corporation, operating as a for-profit company, with the federal government as majority stockholder. Members of the Amtrak Board of Directors are appointed by the President of the United States and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. The company was created by an act of Congress in 1970 to take control of the majority of the nation’s intercity passenger rail services. We’ve been helping people get places since daily operations began in May 1971. Taking into account Amtrak’s Northeast Corridor, State Supported and Long Distance service lines, shared intermodal stations, and infrastructure access and services provided to 11 state and regional authorities for commuter services from coast to coast, we impact more than 348 million travelers a year.

Northeast Corridor

Northeast Corridor (NEC) Services

Acela and Northeast Regional services connect Washington, D.C., Philadelphia, New York and Boston over the 457-mile NEC. The NEC, the majority of which is owned by Amtrak with smaller segments owned by Massachusetts, Connecticut and New York, is the busiest railroad in North America with about 2,200 Amtrak, commuter, and freight trains operating over some portion of the Washington-Boston route daily.

FY2019 Highlights

Ridership: 12.5 million (up 3.3% year-over-year)

The NEC represents 38.5% of Amtrak's total ridership (56% of total revenue)

With eight commuter railroads operating on the NEC, and approximately 820,000 Amtrak and commuter trips taken every weekday, we are removing drivers from highways, relieving urban congestion and improving air quality.

National Network

State Supported Services

In FY2019, Amtrak received funding from 17 states through 20 agencies to operate 28 short-distance intercity routes (less than 750 miles). These routes serve the Northeast, Midwest, South, Northwest, and West.

FY2019 Highlights

  • 15.4 million riders (up 2.4% year-over-year)
  • 47.5% of total ridership (23% of total revenue)
  • Five routes with more than one million riders: Pacific Surfliner (CA), Capitol Corridor (CA), Empire Service/Maple Leaf (NY), Keystone Service (PA), and San Joaquins (CA)

Long Distance Services

Our 15 Long Distance routes (over 750 miles) provide the only rail service at nearly half of Amtrak’s 500+ stations and are the only Amtrak trains in 23 of the 46 states in the network.

FY2019 Highlights

  • 4.6 million riders (up 0.9% year-over-year)
  • 14% of total ridership (21% of total revenue)

Contract Commuter Services

Amtrak is one of the largest operators of contract commuter services in North America–providing services and/or infrastructure access to 11 state and regional authorities. Connecting urban centers alleviates highway congestion, which decreases emissions caused by motor vehicles. It also helps support state initiatives to expand rail service and improve air quality.


Highlight Stories

Long Distance

State Supported

Northeast Corridor

Suspended Service

info icon

Want to learn more? Visit Amtrak Sustainability.