当生活不如意时……成立一家全国铁路公司

当Amtrak在1971年推出第一列火车时,并没有推出印有公司独特标志和颜色的崭新车厢和最先进的机车。

相反,在成立的前几年,这家新的国家客运火车公司要求将不合适的发动机和客车厢集合拼凑起来,这些引擎和客车厢是从大多数20tiao铁路中遗留下来的,这些铁路放弃了客运业务,从而促成了Amtrak的成立 。

这意味着,对于维修人员来说,每天都是一个持续的挑战,要保证几十年前的设备正常运行和服务,直到Amtrak可以投资购买自己的设备。

机械师Russ Fox回忆说:“Amtrak继承的大部分设备在前些年得到的维护很少,更何况不同的设备意味着不同的机械系统、电气系统、空气制动器、卡车等。"Russ在1970年代在位于Wilmington, DE的Mechtron Industries工作过,该公司为Amtrak的设备进行了一些早期的大修。“要想维护所有的设备,那简直是一场噩梦。光是要拿到匹配的配件就已经够难了。”

尽管Amtrak早期车队的维修工作大多是由第三方工场,或货运铁路承包商完成的,但要想让列车看起来是全国铁路网络的一部分,仍然面临着挑战。

它适用于外部和内部装饰,其装饰仍然保留着乘客旅行黄金时代的痕迹,包括分割玻璃餐车隔板和复杂的设计,如西南图案的釉面砖设计。Amtrak的第一个内部设计采用超现代风格,反映了1970年代早期的趋势,即,使用粗犷的紫色调和橙色墙壁与内饰。而外部则被漆成了Amtrak的第一套统一的红白蓝制服花样。

为列车内部提供设施也是一个挑战。Amtrak的第一批车厢都使用了蒸汽加热和巨大的电池等旧技术--各种不同的品牌、型号和电压--这些电池由车轴驱动的发电机充电,为每节车厢提供电力和空调。一些餐车的厨房配备了铸铁炉,厨师在备餐前要生火来加热食物或烧水。

直到公司成立四年后,Amtrak才得以投资它的第一列新列车。到 1975为止,Amtrak已订购了上百列全新的现代Amfleet和Superliner列车,全部通过系统运营,取代了遗留下的旧设备。三年后,Amtrak开始将旧时的蒸汽热能转为供电系统,这意味着机械师可以告别每列车厢下沉重、低效的电池。

Amtrak将继续投资新列车,新技术,致力于在21世纪,为美国提供安全、可持续、可靠的客运铁路服务。这包括在1993年购买新的通用电气Genesis P40发动机,这些发动机采用Amtrak自己的工业工程师的规格设计,以提高燃油效率、安全性和美观性。而在Amtrak庆祝其50周年之际,公司正准备推出其最新、最现代化的高速、全电动车队:新Acela。

从最早的蒸汽时代的车厢到最新、最好的Acela列车,Amtrak 向所有维持列车运正常运转的人员致敬。他们在充满挑战的时代和环境中工作的承诺,进一步证明了Amtrak一直并且继续是美国客运铁路旅行的领导者。

Amtrak历史上的设备更新里程碑

1973: Amtrak订购了新的机车头,包括SDP-40F 柴油机 和E60电子机车头。

1973: Amtrak从Budd公司订购了将近500辆Amfleet汽车中的前57辆。

1974: Amtrak订购了法国设计的涡轮动力车厢的11个列车组。

1975: Amtrak投资了313百万美元给最先进的火车双层车厢Pullman-Standard公司,提供235lian长距离运输的Superliner列车车厢。订单包含了列车车厢,卧铺车厢,餐饮车厢,咖啡/休息室车厢。

1975:  With the purchase of the Beech Grove, IN, heavy maintenance facility from Penn Central, Amtrak brings heavy overhauls of its equipment in-house.

1976: 30 全新的 F40PH 机车头 开始投入运营。

1978: Amtrak开始将旧时的机车头从蒸汽热能转为电力系统。

1980: 从Washington, DC到New York的机车头901号,成为了第一个纳税的电力AEM-7 

1980: Amtrak从Budd公司订购了150节新车厢,(125节长距离运输列车和 25 节餐饮服务车厢),人称 Amfleet II

1981: Amtrak车队包括 1,436节全新的或重建的全电动客运车厢,省油的机车头车队,平均建成时间为四年。转型为全电动车队降低了设备故障率,因此,延误率也降低至百分之31。

1986: Amtrak开始改造Amfleet车厢的电气设备,使列车可以在 "推拉式 "服务中运行,以提高燃油效率和改善运行安全。

1986: Amtrak完成了第一个Viewliner原型。这些车厢长 85 英尺,高14 英尺,两排的窗户为旅客提供了更广阔的视野。

1990: Amtrak验收了 58 Horizon 车厢

1992: Amtrak验收了20台全新的P32-8BWH柴油机机车头,搭载第一代GE打造的引擎。

1993: Amtrak下单采购50辆Viewliner卧铺车厢。

1993: Amtrak验收 22 P40 Genesis 机车头,专为客运铁路服务设计,更专注于速度,而非载重量。

1997: Amtrak验收 111 全新P42 柴油机机车头。这些更轻的,更多利用空气动力学的引擎提高了燃油效率,同时,也比早期的模型有更大的马力。

2000: 电气化完成后,Acela Regional 131号从Boston来到Washington, DC,标志着繁忙的Northeast Corridor上的第一列电气化列车的运行。

2000: 同年,第一列Acela Express动车组开始运营,从Washington, DC到Boston,开启了美国高速铁路运营的新时代。

2014: 机车头600号成为了第一列投入营收运营的Amtrak Cities Sprinter (ACS-64) 电动机车头,引领东北区域列车171号,从波士顿到华盛顿。

2016: Amtrak宣布与Alstom签订合同,生产28辆新一代高速动车组,取代提供Amtrak高级服务Acela Express的设备。

2017:  Amtrak embarks on an extensive refresh of the interiors on nearly 450 Amfleet I cars.

2017: 新Siemens Charger(SC-44) 柴油机车头能够将速度提升至125 英里每小时,在美国中西部和西北太平洋地区各州支持的铁路上运行。这些设备由各州联合购买,由Amtrak维护。

2018: Amtrak与Siemens Mobility签订一份850百万美元的合同,订购75辆新Tier 4 (ALC-42客运柴油机车和相关服务。该机组提供最新的安全系统,并能够将速度提升到125英里每小时。

2019: Amtrak征集新的单层铁路客运车辆的建议,以取代Amfleet I型车,提供具有现代设施的新设备,从而更好地服务客户。

即将推出: Amtrak推出新的Acela高速列车组,以取代用于提供Amtrak优质服务的Acela设备。

When Life Hands You Lemons… Build a National Railroad

When Amtrak launched its first trains in 1971, it did not do so with shiny new coaches and state-of-the-art locomotives all branded with the company’s unique logo and colors.

Instead, the first years of the new national passenger train company required patching together a misfit collection of engines and passenger cars that were handed down from most of the 20 individual railroads that abandoned passenger service, leading to the formation of Amtrak.

That meant that for maintenance personnel every day was a constant challenge to keep equipment that was several decades old running and serviceable until Amtrak could invest in its own equipment.

“Much of what Amtrak inherited had received minimal maintenance in the previous years, not to mention the fact that different equipment meant different mechanical systems, electrical systems, air brakes, trucks, etc.,” recalls Russ Fox, a mechanic who worked on these cars during the 1970s at Mechtron Industries in Wilmington, DE, which preformed some of the early overhauls to Amtrak’s equipment. “It was a nightmare to take care of. Just getting the right parts was hard.”

Although maintenance on Amtrak’s early fleets was mostly performed by third party shops and freight railroad contractors, there was still the challenge of trying to make the trains look like they belonged to a national network.

That applied to the exteriors and interiors, whose decors still held relics of the golden age of passenger travel, including cut-glass dining car dividers and intricate design flourishes such as glazed tile designs in Southwestern motifs. Amtrak’s first interior design was ultra-contemporary, reflecting the trends of the early 1970s with bold purple and orange walls and upholstery. The exteriors, however, were painted into Amtrak’s first uniform red, white and blue livery.

Providing amenities to those interiors was also a challenge. Amtrak’s first cars all used old technology such as steam heat and huge batteries — in all different makes, models and voltages — which were charged by axle-driven generators to provide electricity and air conditioning in each car. Some dining car kitchens came equipped with cast-iron stoves that required cooks to build a fire to heat food and water for meal preparation.

It would be four years after its founding before Amtrak could invest in its first new cars. By 1975, Amtrak had ordered hundreds of new modern Amfleet and Superliner cars to operate across the system, replacing older inherited equipment. Three years later, Amtrak began converting older steam heated cars to reliable electric head-end power, which meant mechanics could get rid of the heavy — and inefficient — batteries under each coach.

Amtrak would continue to invest in new cars and new technology, demonstrating its commitment to safe, sustainable and reliable passenger rail travel that would carry America into the 21st century. This included the purchase of new General Electric Genesis P40 engines in 1993 that were designed using Amtrak’s own industrial engineers’ specs for greater fuel efficiency, safety and aesthetics. And as Amtrak celebrates its 50th Anniversary, it is preparing to launch its newest and most modern high-speed, all-electric fleet: the new Acela.

Amtrak salutes all the personnel who have kept our trains running, from those earliest steam-era cars to our latest and greatest Acela trains. Their commitment to working through challenging times and circumstances is further evidence that Amtrak has been, and continues to be, a leader in U.S. passenger rail travel.

Equipment Milestones in Amtrak’s History

1973:  Amtrak orders new locomotives, including  SDP-40F diesels and E60 electric locomotives.

1973:  Amtrak orders the first 57 of nearly 500 Amfleet cars from the Budd Company.

1974:  Amtrak orders 11 train sets with turbine-powered cars of French design.

1975:  Amtrak makes a $313 million investment in 235 state-of-the-art bi-level Pullman-Standard Company Superliner cars for long distance trains. The order included coaches, sleeping, dining, café/lounge cars.

1975:  With the purchase of the Beech Grove, IN, heavy maintenance facility from Penn Central, Amtrak brings heavy overhauls of its equipment in-house.

1976:  30 new F40PH locomotives are put into service.

1978:  Amtrak begins to convert older locomotives from steam heat to reliable, electric head-end power.

1980:  Locomotive No. 901 from Washington, DC, to New York becomes the first electric AEM-7 to enter revenue service.

1980:  Amtrak orders 150 new cars (125 long distance coaches and 25 food service cars), known as Amfleet II, from the Budd Company.

1981:  The Amtrak fleet includes 1,436 new or rebuilt all-electric passenger cars and a fuel-efficient locomotive fleet, with an average age of four years. Conversion to an all-electric fleet reduces equipment malfunctions and resulting delays by 31 percent.

1986:  Amtrak begins modifying electrical equipment on Amfleet cars so that trains can operate in "push-pull" service for increased fuel efficiency and improved operational safety.

1986:  Amtrak completes its first Viewliner prototype. These cars measure 85 feet long and 14 feet high and offer wide views of the passing landscape through two rows of windows.

1990:  Amtrak accepts delivery of 58 Horizon cars.

1992:  Amtrak takes delivery of 20 new P32-8BWH diesel locomotives with first-generation GE-built engines.

1993:  Amtrak places order for 50 Viewliner sleeping cars.

1993:  Amtrak receives delivery of 22 P40 Genesis locomotives designed specifically for passenger rail service by focusing more on speed than tonnage.

1997:  Amtrak takes delivery of 111 new P42 diesel locomotives. These lighter and more aerodynamic engines provide improved fuel efficiency while also generating more horsepower than earlier models.

2000:  With electrification complete, Acela Regional No. 131 runs from Boston to Washington, DC, marking the first entire electrified run on the busy Northeast Corridor.

2000:  Late in the year, the first Acela Express trainset enters revenue service between Washington, DC, and Boston, ushering in a new age of high-speed rail for America.

2014:  Locomotive No. 600 becomes the first electric Amtrak Cities Sprinter (ACS-64) to enter revenue service, leading Northeast Regional train No. 171 from Boston to Washington.

2016:  Amtrak announces a contract with Alstom to produce 28 next-generation high-speed trainsets that will replace the equipment used to provide Amtrak’s premium Acela Express service.

2017:  Amtrak embarks on an extensive refresh of the interiors on nearly 450 Amfleet I cars.

2017:  New Siemens Charger (SC-44) diesel locomotives capable of speeds up to 125 mph are introduced on state-supported routes in the Midwest and Pacific Northwest. Purchased by a consortium of states, the units are maintained by Amtrak.

2018:  Amtrak awards an $850 million contract to Siemens Mobility for 75 new Tier 4 (ALC-42) passenger diesel locomotives and associated services. The units offer the latest safety systems and are capable of speeds up to 125 mph.

2019:  Amtrak seeks proposals for a new fleet of single-level passenger rail vehicles to replace Amfleet I cars, providing new equipment with contemporary amenities to better serve customers.

Coming Soon:  Amtrak launches it new Acela high-speed trainsets to replace the equipment used to provide Amtrak’s premium Acela service.